History of All Angels Church


From Saxon to Modern times
There have been 3 different churches since Saxon times. Firstly a wooden Saxon church allegedly destroyed by fire in the 1600’s, replaced by a church built using reclaimed building materials at nearby Little Marcle Court. By 1862, this church had fallen into disrepair and was in danger of collapse. Plans were drawn up by J W Hugall for an entirely new church, on farmland ¼ mile to the east of Little Marcle Court. The present church St Michael & All Angels Church was built in the late 1860’s and consecrated in July 1870, so is approaching it's 150 year anniversary. To begin with, there was no organ and a harmonium was used from the old church. In 1912 funds were raised for a permanent organ which remains today. The addition of the organ has been the only significant change in the building since it was built, apart from a small pitched roof, storage extension which was probably built in the early 20th Century between the wars. The population of Little Marcle has changed little and is mainly a traditional farming community. Of note are the long service records of churchwardens, organists and secretaries. There have been 3 generations of the Skittery family who have served as churchwardens, Betty Browne served as organist for 55 years and Joan Powell was PCC secretary for a similar length of time. This is all testament to relatively little change in the Church since its construction 150 years ago. The church is simple in construction, consisting of a large rectangular Nave and smaller rectangular Chancel. Inside the porch of the main North door is a plaque that reads “ The Incorporated Society for Buildings & Churches granted £35 AD 1869 towards rebuilding this church, upon condition that all the sittings be free and subject to allotment by the churchwardens according to law.”